America’s Birthday

Yesterday was the 4th of July!  Well sort of.  The American Embassy in Kigali had an Independence Day celebration for all Americans living in Rwanda.  Why it was on the 6th of July I am not sure.  Nonetheless, we decided that it would be a fun thing to attend.

At the event, there was a dunking booth, corn hole, 4th of July decorations, hats, pizza, corn dogs, burgers, ice cream, donuts, and cotton candy.  Needless to say we were very excited because although the food here is amazing, we have been dreaming of our fatty American dishes.  I had some pizza, donuts, and ice cream.  It was good, but the pizza was cold so it didn’t quite satisfy my desire for American food.  At the end of the evening there was even a fireworks display (on a projector thank goodness).

Overall the event was fun and as more people arrived we played most of the games.  I can proudly say that I successfully won at the dunking booth, while Daniel had his struggles.  Daniel however did get a chance to talk to some girls that were interning at the US Embassy.  Hopefully he’ll get a chance to set a meeting before we head back.

I know for me, the event caused me to realize I’m not ready to come home yet.  I’m still enjoying Rwandan culture, and I am excited to still have plenty more time here.

-Lampe

Leave a Reply

