Hospitality

Today we attended another 4 hour church service (our second since being here).  Unlike last month’s, there was no translation done over the microphone.  Instead, Daniel and I were given our own personal translators.  It was a bit uncomfortable for me since I was taller than my translator and I had to strain my neck.  However I really appreciated the gesture.

Daniel and I have both talked and written about how it feels weird to be treated special because we are Muzungos.  However this was something completely different.  It was all about making their guests feel welcomed.  It wasn’t about special privileges.

Last night we were at our driver’s house.  He offered us food and drink, so to be polite we of course said yes (plus, who turns down free food).  Therefore he proceeded to leave his home to go buy some sambusas and Cokes.  I would have felt bad if that wasn’t the culture here.  Multiple times we have been places where the hosts leave go buy whatever we want to drink.  It’s something that would never happen in America.   Here its completely normal and I actually like it.  It is such an open culture that they people go out of their way to accommodate guests.

As Daniel’s trip ends tomorrow, and my time at the orphanage ends on Friday, I think that is one thing that I will try to bring with me back home.  I hate how in our culture it’s rude to take extra food at a buffet, or ask for something to eat/ drink when at someone’s house.  Here, if they run out of food, they bring out more.  That is just the expectation.  I have learned so much from living in this culture for a month, and I will be sad to head home.

-Lampe

Leave a Reply

